2003-06-22

Swimming in the Shallow End

I am hyper-aware of my obsessive-compulsive nature. Mostly because everyone I know reminds me of it every chance they get. So all these gentle reminders got me obsessing about my obsessions. This is the most current list, categorized, of course, but in no particular order.

POP CULTURE AND CELEBRITIES

-American Idol (Clay Aiken in particular)

-Donny and Marie

-Shaun Cassidy

-Rad Daly (obscure teen idol)

-THE POLICE (Andy Summers, baby)

-Emeril Lagasse

-Howard Stern

-Howard Jones

-South Park

-Trey Parker

-Waiting for Guffman

-Rocky Horror Picture Show

-Harry Potter

-Bobcat Goldthwait

-Barry Sobel

-Grease

-An American Werewolf in London

-MTV

-Saturday Night Live

-Concerts in the 80s

STYLE AND FASHION

-Magnetic earrings

-Stick pins

-Velvet blazers

-Gauchos

-The Preppy Handbook (all clothing listed within)

-Bonne Bell Lipgloss (remember that girl in grammar school who used to EAT the big fat ones???!!!)

-Pseudo-punk-new-wave look (lopsided haircuts, Sun-In, Madonna jewelry and clothes)

-Cher perfume

-Hair crimping iron (how big can my hair get)

-Flatiron

-Black suede boots

-Black suede fringe jacket

-Button-cover purses

-Clinique makeup

-Osh Kosh and Dickies Chinos in every fricking color

-Red leather jacket

ACTIVITIES

-Cheerleading (for about a week)

-Synchronized swimming

-Dancing

-Gymnastics

-Playing the flute

-Shoplifting

-Renovating houses

-Building a house

-Karaoke

-Thursday night bowling

-Musical theater

-Trips to New York City

-Gay bars and drag shows

-Rescuing animals

-The Wedding

-Online shopping

-Online anything

-Painting

BIGGEST NON-CELEBRITY CRUSHES ON GUYS THAT I DIDN'T MARRY

-Andy - the very first - I remember crying in my bed just thinking about him

-Brian - who lived in the neighborhood - I used to sit on the corner and watch him play hockey and spit - spitting was cool then

_________ - fill in the blank with the name of any tall, thin, funny teenage Catholic school boy

-Fran - now my best boy friend

-Father "DeBricassar" - a priest I actually had a crush on while making my confirmation - how creepy!

I just love reading this over and noticing that there is absolutely nothing on this list with any intellectual value whatsoever.

Yep, I'm shallow.

joeparadox at 6:02 p.m.

previous | next