2003-06-30

Me So Hyper

I finished Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. Don't get all nervous and jerky, I'm not gonna give anything away. Sheesh.

It's no wonder I was able to read 870 pages in three days. The vast majority of solids and liquids that have entered my body during that time frame have been of the caffeinated persuasion.

Although I am extremely partial to the coffee served by a favorite local establishment, and will continue to be loyal to this cup-o-joe, I have recently discovered the insane pleasure of The Starbucks Latte. To be truthful, I don't particularly enjoy Starbucks' coffee per se, and I will admit that ordering their crap is a little intimidating (which do you say first - the venti or the latte?) but I am becoming rapidly addicted to these frothy concoctions. I will gladly make a fool of myself at the counter just to get that baby into my bloodstream, and fast. No flavorings, no sugar, just espresso and milk whipped into a frenzy. Oh yeah.

Yesterday I was too engrossed in Harry Potter to fathom dressing and leaving the house for my daily fix, so I actually MADE a pot of coffee for myself at home. The problem here is that I drank the entire thing. Myself. And because I own one of those Bunn commercial-grade coffeemakers, 48 ounces of Liquid High is always just three minutes away. I figure this is a good way for me to get in those 8 glasses of water a day I'm always hearing about.

When I'm not downing ridiculous amounts of the hot stuff, you can find an open can of ice cold Coca-Cola at my fingertips. Once the husband stopped at the grocery store on his way home from work and unloaded ten beautiful, gleaming 12-packs from the car. When I responded to his query, "Yeah, you could bring home some Coke," I never expected the FRICKING MOTHER LODE.

Oreos are, in my opinion, a food group. They are at the bottom of the Food Pyramid; therefore, I should eat 6 to 12 servings of them per day. It's getting kind of humid here, so I am enjoying the frozen Oreo as the current main staple of my diet. An occasional chocolate ice cream cone finds its way into my digestive tract, but for the most part, it's Oreo City in there.

So far today, I have consumed one pot of coffee, two cans of Coca-Cola and one chocolate ice cream cone. I'm done reading Harry Potter.

I bet I could read the whole dictionary.

joeparadox at 3:59 p.m.

previous | next