2003-08-28

Bible Thumpers

Remember I once said I would never talk about my job on my blog?

I lied.

Today we held our annual Open House to welcome students. In my school, we are the only instructional staff. Most of the building consists of district offices and renters.

There is a Christian group that rents space to hold Sunday services in the school auditorium.

Incidentally, it is the same auditorium on whose stage I portrayed Dolly Levi in the musical "Hello, Dolly" my senior year in high school. I remember having to make fast costume changes in what is now the faculty lunch room. Weird.

The Sunday Christian People have taken the liberty of adorning the walls of the school auditorium with banners proclaiming their faith.

Luckily my fantastic assistant discovered these asshat banners before 216 families waltzed through the doors for the welcome assembly.

She called down the hall, "Has anyone seen what's hanging in the auditorium? 'We Are One In Christ'? Um, I don't think so."

I f'n love her.

Obviously these banners would be uncool at a public school meeting. Everyone hemmed and hawed about whether or not we had the authority to remove them.

I marched my ass into the auditorium and ripped the friggin' things right down. They were fastened with velcro. I folded them and placed them on a chair backstage. The Bible Thumpers can find them and hang them back up themselves. Those things have no place in my school.

On that note, here's a picture of one of the high school mascots, which hangs in the hall outside the Physical Education Department office...located in my school.

joeparadox at 6:22 p.m.

previous | next