2004-04-24

WE ALL GO A LITTLE MAD SOMETIMES

My mother, what's the phrase?  She's not quite herself today.

I think it's fair to say that between now and June, I'll have another free flight on Southwest.

Did I mention I'm living with my parents for two months?

I haven't lived "at home" since I was eighteen years old, and I moved "back" yesterday. Within minutes, my dad was sitting on the edge of the bed bombarding me with questions about the internet and my mom was rattling inquiries about the remaining contents of my house from the master bedroom down the hall. Not to mention the constant barrage of "Do you want anything to eat?"

And I can't just wander freely and whimsically around the house because of The Dog Who Wants to Eat Me.

Oh, lord. I'm not the praying type, but I might start praying for strength not to throw myself over the balcony, or better yet, throw one of them over, Damien Omen-style.

I've got my computer set up on a card table in a corner of one of the guest bedrooms. The table sits on two Pac-Man sheets that are spread on the floor, in case I get the carpet dirty from all the SITTING I'll be doing. Next to the table is a window with a lovely view of the house and lake across the street. I can see it any time I want because the shades on the window are only for "decoration" and don't actually close. If I pull them down, they'll never go back up, and they won't be perfectly aligned. I must look like Norman Bates' mother from the outside.

I'm not complaining, mind you, because my parents are all too generous for letting me shack up in their 2800 square foot mansion of a house that they built last year. It's just a big adjustment after being on my own for sixteen years. It will be nice to spend this time with them before I move 465 miles away. Just like gouging out my eyes with a dull pencil is "nice."

I'm sure I'll be bawling my eyes out on June 26 when I pull out of this driveway, waving goodbye. Until then, let me have my pretend complaints.

joeparadox at 7:27 a.m.

previous | next