2003-11-05

Customer Service

What's happening to customer service these days?

I just received a call from a baby store in New York City informing me that the online order I placed could not be honored. The items on my friends' gift registry were seasonal and no longer in stock. The store would be happy to credit my account or send a gift card in place of the items I wanted to purchase. I opted for the gift card, and insisted that they overnight it to my house at no additional charge. They acted like they were doing ME a favor, instead of correcting their mistake. I didn't say thank you. And I always say thank you. I'm a big fan of the thank you.

Last year, I received a call from a Kirby vacuum sales representative, asking if I would be interested in setting up an appointment for a demonstration. I was more than polite.

"Thanks for calling, but I'm not interested in a Kirby vacuum."

"May I ask why not?"

"Um, well, to be honest, I couldn't afford a Kirby, and I'm not really in the market for a new vacuum right now, anyway. But thanks for the offer."

"Do you realize that a Kirby vacuum is an investment and that you'll never have to buy another vacuum for the next 25 to 30 years. We also sell reconditioned vacuums at a fraction of the cost!"

"Yes, I'm aware of all those things, but I'm still going to..."

CLICK.

What? WHAT? She friggin' hung up on me! The Kirby vacuum rep who CALLED ME, UNSOLICITED, AT MY HOME, HUNG UP ON MOI!

Oh no she didn't.

I immediately *69ed her ass and called back.

"Hello?"

"Oh, hello. This is Danielle. You just called me regarding a Kirby vacuum demonstration."

"Oh, yes! What can I do for you?"

At this point, I think she assumed I reconsidered her offer following her intimidating hang up sales technique.

"Well, I was just calling you back to say that IT'S VERY RUDE TO CALL PEOPLE AT HOME AND WHEN THEY DON'T AGREE TO ONE OF YOUR USELESS DEMONSTRATIONS, YOU HANG UP ON THEM, EVEN THOUGH THEY'VE BEEN MORE THAN POLITE. And now it's your turn to see what it's like when someone hangs up on YOU."

CLICK.

And another thing. When I go to the doctor, I expect to be seen at my appointment time, give or take fifteen minutes. I realize emergencies come up and a doctor may have to juggle the schedule for the day to accomodate patients in need. That's to be expected.

But come on. If you know your schedule is more than thirty minutes behind, at least call people and tell them ahead of time. My time is just as valuable as the good doctor's, and though I enjoy sitting around reading three month old copies of "People" and "Good Housekeeping," I've got shit to do. I figure that a doctor works for me, since I'm the one paying for the visit. I expect decent customer service.

So here's my rule. If a doctor makes me wait more than thirty minutes past my scheduled appointment, I go up to the desk, raise a ruckus and leave, never to return. I don't care how highly recommended a doctor is, because I know I can find another one with equal credentials in a heartbeat.

Oh my GOD. Would you listen to me? The next thing you know, I'll be yelling out the front door at the neighborhood kids to get off my lawn.

Well, I just raked, for chrissakes.

joeparadox at 5:32 p.m.

previous | next