2003-08-01

Hypocrisy

I don't want to be Catholic any more.

I am not one to start political or religious debates. This isn't because I don't care about issues. It's because I am not informed enough to discuss them intelligently. Plus I don't like it when people don't agree with me, so avoiding these discussions eliminates the possibility that dissent may occur.

But sometimes, things just piss me off. Like THIS, for example.

"The Vatican today condemned gay marriages as "deviant" in a document that instructs clergy and Catholic politicians on how to stop the legislative momentum in favor of gay marriages in North America and Europe."

Okay, I understand they have an obligation to uphold the basic tenets of the Catholic faith and make these kinds of statements.

But, peeps, I JUST DON'T GET IT. My brain is NOT wired to understand how people can think gay marriage or homosexuality is wrong. No quotes from the Bible or evangelical speeches will ever convince me. EVER. So don't jam my box with your thoughts if you disagree with me, because I'll just delete them.

I can think of things a lot more deviant than two guys making out.

LIKE HOW ABOUT PRIESTS WHO MOLEST AND ABUSE LITTLE BOYS? That rates much higher on the deviance scale, in my humble opinion.

I'm not going go off on a big rant. As I said before, I'm too stupid and uninformed to argue the point further.

I just gotta call hypocrisy when I see it.

joeparadox at 12:29 p.m.

previous | next