2003-07-20

Nostalgic

I am in a retro kind of mood. All this week, I've felt like the clock has been turned back about 15 years.

I've spent several nights this week hanging out with old friends. I've been friends with every one of them for no less than 17 years, and some I have known for almost 30.

Whenever we get together, it's like no time has passed and we are kept apart not by miles, but by mere steps.

Tonight was especially wonderful. We sat by the lake, talking and laughing.

And the seaweed on the shore smelled like an elephant's ass.

I overheard someone make this analogy tonight and it's right on the money.

This odor is permanently etched in my brain. In fact, I can smell it right now.

It's a good thing my friends were there to take my mind off the stench.

Hey Joe Paradox, if you're reading this, I just want you to know there's no one on this planet I'd rather smell elephant ass seaweed with than YOU.

joeparadox at 2:33 a.m.

previous | next