2003-10-17

Dolls Are Scary

Folks I know think it's weird that I've met people online who have become my real life friends.

They've worried that the people with whom I've traveled in recent months might be axe murderers or serial killers with tiny little Yorkie dogs named "Precious" and "Spike."

I'm writing this entry now, so obviously, they're not.

In fact, We Who Spend Inordinate Amounts Of Time Online are connected by a common disdain for and fear of dolls.

Gluttons for punishment, we scour google for images of the most disturbing and revolting dolls we can find, in the hopes of causing the other members of our elite clique to release the contents of their bladders into their clean undergarments.

The links we send each other have evoked such responses as, "ACK!" and "GAH!" This has been sufficiently satisfying. Until two weeks ago.

Images of dolls found in cyberspace no longer make the grade. Now, pictures of dolls that will cause previously unheard guttural sounds to rise from the depths of the larynx of the viewer MUST be located IN PERSON.

It all began in New York City. On our way to the site of the World Trade Center, we saw THESE in a storefront.

I don't think I need to explain why this is so scary. It just is.

Last weekend, I visited my friends in Detroit. We saw THIS in a window on a quaint street in Ferndale.

Pretty disturbing, huh?

However, nothing...NOTHING...could prepare us for the sick, twisted and utterly terrifying site we would see the following evening. THIS is the backyard of someone's home in a quaint neighborhood nestled in the suburbs of the Motor City.

Go scrub your eyes with bleach, now.

Sweet dreams.

joeparadox at 5:37 p.m.

previous | next