2003-09-24

A Typical Day

Have you ever taken the top off of an Elmer's glue bottle, turned it upside down and squeezed out the entire contents? If you haven't, I highly recommend it.

This activity naturally followed one from a few days ago, when I encouraged my students to pour glue into their palms, let it dry, and peel it off. It's a great feeling.

Here's what my classroom looks like at the end of a typical day.

Apparently it is necessary to dump out every toy, puzzle and manipulative on the giant rug.

Removing one's shoes is fun, until a bloodcurdling scream emanates from the mouth of a child who has had their foot rocked upon by a wooden boat containing the full body weight of four of her peers.

Oh, look. More mess. What exactly were they doing?

Hey, did you know gluesticks make great crayons? Well, they do.

Also, be sure to use at least three glue sticks AND a bottle of Elmer's when collaging. Do not bother to put the caps on any of them. That's just pointless.

Should I be concerned about this?

Remember when I said I wouldn't talk about my career in my blog? I love what I do too much to keep quiet about it. If a child in my class hasn't painted their hands and face, gotten sand under their fingernails and danced for no good reason every single day, I'm not doing my job, yo.

joeparadox at 8:25 p.m.

previous | next