2003-11-19

Yay, Underoos!

OH. MY. GOD. HERE. THEY. ARE.

When I saw that picture, my immediate visceral response was, "Please, god, let them make these soon in adult sizes."

After further research and discussion, this poll was found. I took it, even though it was intended for men only. Mysogynists.

My far-fetched dream of once again owning a set of Supergirl Underoos inched ever closer to reality when Tony sent me this link. At that moment, I swear the sun shone through the clouds directly over my house.

I had a voice.

Here's a copy of the message I submitted to the good people at Fruit of the Loom.

To Whom It May Concern:

I was a child of the seventies who proudly wore Supergirl Underoos and even allowed my mother to photograph me in them on our front porch in broad daylight while eating a carrot.

I frequently reminisce about my beloved Underoos and wonder what became of their nylon goodness. At the tender age of nine, the daring midriff top of the Supergirl Underoos was my first foray into womanly undergarments.

I consider myself an underwear aficionado and I feel that Fruit of the Loom provides a product of the highest quality and caliber. Thus, I have a request.

Please, please, please, in the name of all that is good and right in this world, revive the production of Underoos in ADULT SIZES. I have done extensive research on the internet, and I truly believe there is a HUGE, untapped pool of consumers to whom you can market this product and make unbelievable profits. Most of us who grew up in the seventies and early eighties are adults that sit around the house watching documentaries on VH-1 about these two fine decades and wishing for things like Underoos to return.

UNDEROOS FOR ADULTS. BRING THEM BACK. WE WILL BUY THEM.

Sincerely,

Danielle

I WILL be Supergirl again.

joeparadox at 3:42 p.m.

previous | next