2003-10-20

Crush

When I was in second or third grade, I remember having the hugest crush on a boy in my class named Andy. I even cried myself to sleep one night just thinking about him.

Friday, a mom came up to me with a big smile on her face and asked, "Which one is Patrick?"

"Patrick's not here yet. Why?"

"Well, yesterday, my daughter came home and said, 'Mom. I think I'm in love. There's a boy in my class named Patrick, and he is so gorgeous to look at.'"

I laughed and said, "Oh my god, did she really say 'gorgeous to look at'?"

"Yes, and I have no idea where she got that from!"

"Hahahahahahahahahhahahahahahaha!"

During snack, I noticed that this little girl chose to sit right next to Patrick. She gazed at him lovingly over her Teddy Grahams and juice box. She couldn't take her eyes off his gorgeousness.

I'll bet when the class picture arrives, his photo will be the last thing she looks at before she goes to bed. The corners will be dog-eared in a matter of weeks because she'll sleep with it under her pillow.

Patrick, don't break her heart. She's only four.

joeparadox at 3:37 p.m.

previous | next